Music: Luxury or Necessity?

When a gifted child says, “I need to play the violin,” the normal world is likely to translate “need” as “want.” But music is vital to a born musician; we can no more give it up than we can quit eating.

Without it, a part of us languishes and dies. With it, we can focus, sleep, enjoy an even temper, and in all ways function well. If music lessons, or just access to an instrument, can prevent trouble, think how valuable this intervention could be.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music: Luxury or Necessity?

  1. Yichun says:

    I feel the same for my kids – they love music. Especially my ds3, he will seek out music. But I am a bit frustrated because we live in Thailand (and I don’t speak Thai) and I found it hard to get a good music experience for him. I tried violin when my dd5 was 3 and it did not work out because I tried to make her play violin everyday and she resisted it. She is a daydreamer and I found your lines on daydreaming helpful. Some times I noticed that they are unhappy because some needs are not fulfilled. I want to help them but feeding the tigers are hard especially when I don’t know that the needs are…

    BTW, I found your blog from the taxmax forum. I wish I could send them to your cello class…

    • Rebecca Hein says:

      Yes, I think musical study is a difficult problem for the most talented. They so often need to go their own way, and traditional classical training doesn’t often allow for this.

      The only thing I can say about discerning their needs is to observe what they are most interested in & go with that.

      Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

