On Perfectionism

Decades ago in grade school when I got my standardized achievement test scores, I felt like a failure because I was above the 75th percentile in math instead of the 99th, as I was in language.

Now, when my sixteen-year-old son brings home a college Geology exam with two missed points and two extra credit points to balance it out for an indisputable “A,” he declares himself a failure.

“It might as well be a C,” he said to me gloomily, handing me his test.

I ought to understand, and in part I do. Yet I’m also mystified. His grade is clearly an A but he can’t seem to see the good work he did, any more than I could see that the top 25 percent was at least well above average.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in High Intelligence, perfectionism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

