Gifted Children and Friendship

When my two profoundly gifted children, then six and eight, found friends in our neighborhood, my husband and I breathed sighs of relief. In the previous episode, when our daughter had been four, she’d tried to teach another neighbor girl chess. It didn’t work.

This time around, we hoped for better, and for several weeks Annette and Lewis played in our back yard with the three children who lived just down our block. Then one afternoon, Annette said, “Mama, I feel like a babysitter. I’d rather read.”

Lewis, it turned out, was feeling an overpowering sense of stress because he couldn’t understand what seemed to him immature and dangerous behavior.

So we had to search for other friends for them, and a few years later Annette commented to me, “You know, I like talking with adults. Some of my best friends are much older than I am, but they’re so interesting.”

Senior citizens’ centers, local clubs and chapters such as the Audubon Society, community events; all these are good opportunities for finding like-minded friends of any age.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Gifted Children and Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

