What’s Calling My Child the Loudest? Part Three: Determining the Strongest Drive

When my profoundly gifted son Lewis told me it was sometimes hard for him to pay attention in his cello lessons or while practicing, that wasn’t the end of it. He spelled it out for me, and in so doing, advanced my understanding of his special needs.

After he said, “The doing [of cello playing] is easy; it’s the paying attention that’s hard,” he added, “and woodworking is calling so loudly to me that I can’t hear anything else.”

I knew he meant that he wanted, or rather needed, to learn his father’s carpentry skills. At six years old he needed supervision, and it was obviously time for him to start.

This episode was my introduction to the inner reality of a gifted child wherein attention to normal tasks is only possible if his strongest drive is given top priority.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Attention Deficit Disorder, Gifted Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

