Helping Your Gifted Right-Brain Learner, Part Three: Letting Go of What You Learned Yesterday

Years ago I discovered with my own cello playing that I shouldn’t try to build today’s practice session on what I learned yesterday. I always played better if I forgot about everything and just attuned myself to present sensations.

When I could do this, what I’d learned the day before often floated back into my mind. It was always more alive than if I’d deliberately tried to capture it.

This is the difference between the left and right brains: the former wants to grab one thing and hang onto it. The latter recaptures a familiar idea, builds on it, then adds other relevant information to produce something better yet.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in right brain and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

