Your Creative Child: Feeding the Tiger, Part Two

After my daughter, Annette, had been playing the cello nearly ten years, I asked her what might have happened if I’d refused to give her lessons, or even delayed her lessons until she was five.

“I don’t know,” she replied,” but I’m really glad you let me start when I was two.”

“Why?”

“Because I can still remember what it felt like before we started. I was asking and asking for a cello and you were telling me I was too young, and I felt like I was in a cage, looking out on a beautiful meadow full of flowers and birds that I couldn’t get to.”

At first glance, to deny this experience to a young child doesn’t seem too serious. But after Annette and I had this conversation, I gained a new sense of the depth of her need to learn music and was glad I’d heeded it when she was so young.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Creativity, Gifted Children, High Intelligence, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

