Your Creative Child: Feeding the Tiger, Part Five

One effect of thwarted creativity is inattention. This is something I’ve largely managed to prevent in my children by learning to follow their curiosity and motivation wherever it leads, and without regard for organization or a set curriculum on any subject. Their drive is like a head of steam: providing powerful forward motion when let off, but causing endless problems when built up too far.

My creative life is the same. I have primary projects and secondary projects. Both are ravenous tigers. The more I feed them, it seems, the hungrier they get. If I work hard enough, the demand eases up, but to achieve this requires me to starve the less hungry of the two. Then it starts chewing away at my attention until I realize that I can only work on my primary project if I also achieve maintenance level on my secondary project.

Though it seems impossible, I manage. It’s tempting to believe that a sleeping tiger should never be awakened because there’s no going back. Yet with my creativity, as with my children’s, the tiger woke itself up. Therefore it’s better to have it roaming at large than to try to keep it in a cage, hungry, frustrated, and causing major distraction.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Creative Child: Feeding the Tiger, Part Five

  1. Brandon says:

    Totally love your explanation of inattention! It is true.

Leave a Reply

