Independent Learning, Part One

Years ago I read about a local teenager who was playing the violin so well that he was winning competitions and otherwise distinguishing himself. I knew his teacher slightly and was not surprised that she’d done a good job with him.

Yet what dominated my thinking was the realization that this student must have been malleable. How else could he have absorbed her advice?

At the time, I was embroiled in a struggle with my own talented son and his cello lessons. I couldn’t seem to get through at all because he needed to learn things his own way. Thus he absorbed little or nothing of what I said.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Gifted Children, High Intelligence, independent learning, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

