Your Perfectionist Child, Part Five

When my son stubbornly insists that his cello playing should match the perfect music he hears inside his head, I’m not disturbed until he quits a practice session too soon, stating gloomily, “I’ll never be able to play well enough.”

Then, of course, I worry that lack of practice will cause a self-fulfilling prophecy. So I cajole or nag him into continuing.

However, this may not be necessary because he has an overpowering drive to play the cello. Thus, even if he’s temporarily discouraged, he probably wouldn’t be able to stay away from the cello very long. I just wish I were brave enough to keep quiet when he does quit a practice session too soon, so I can find out whether or not I’m right about this.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in creative children, Gifted Children, Music, perfectionism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

