Fostering Independence of Thought, Part Four

Lewis’s mis-reading of the notation in “Don’t Bother Me” in favor of a far superior and more spirited rendition, put me in a brief quandary. If I corrected his performance, he might learn something about music-reading, but I’d be pushing a boring, pedantic interpretation.

He was bursting with creative energy and the true spirit of the music, and I couldn’t bring myself to crush this. So I merely pointed out that his rhythm didn’t quite match the notes. He studied the page and agreed.

“But your version is better, so I think you should play it that way,” I told him. “Just as long as you understand that your rhythm differs slightly from the notation.”

So he was happy, and continued to play “Don’t Bother Me” the way he heard it in his head.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in creative children, Gifted Children, Gifted Children and Friendship, independent learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

