Why So Many Gifted Children Are Stubborn, Part Four

Perhaps the best outcome of my son Lewis’s stubborn, self-directed learning was that it defended his learning style. I’d try and try to influence his cello practicing, and utterly fail. His lessons were the same until I began to despair of ever influencing him.

Then I discovered that his procedures really suited him best. He was a daydreamer and I couldn’t reconcile this with my very focused style until I actually saw how much better he played when he could think in his own way.

Thus, in stubbornly holding to his own methods, he eventually overcame my resistance.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Daydreaming, gifted children and independent thinking, gifted children and stubbornness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

