The Value of a Meltdown, Part Three

The day arrived when I could no longer tolerate cello lessons in which Lewis pushed away all my advice and teaching. I knew he couldn’t help it; I knew he had to learn independently. Yet this left me wondering just what my role was.

After five years of trying to figure it out, I finally gave up. I’d tried everything: total hands-off; observation-and-questions; sneak in information where and when I could; and teaching by stealth. The latter was mostly in watching for opportunities to bail him out of the tight spots he inevitably worked his way into. Nothing helped.

About Rebecca Hein

Author of A Case Of Brilliance, her memoir of her discovery that her two children are profoundly gifted
This entry was posted in Gifted Children, independent learning, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

